Yesterday was a long day. Bad commute. Late night event that lasted until 3 a.m. Awake for 24 hours straight. Not much sleep today. You get my drift, I’m sure.

So, I’m home alone on a vacation day, feeling tired and worn out, and all I can think of to make myself feel better is to stretch out next to Mina and rub her tummy and kiss her sweet, pretty face. I can imagine doing that, and I can remember exactly how she felt all soft and warm and sleepy while I rubbed her tummy, but I can’t actually have that comfort.

That sucks.

If I keep myself busy and distracted then I can keep out the sad thoughts. It’s when I’m tired or worn down that I can’t fight off the sad feelings. The worst is knowing when she’s not around, like when I dropped in on Auntie Sue last Sunday. It was clear that Mina had declined my invitation to drive out that way on a hot, humid day because when I walked in the cats (Cousins Amber and Pearl) didn’t scatter. Can’t say I blame Mina because she hated temperatures above 75F, but it made me sorta sad.

I think she’s around today because I’m quiet and sticking close to home. She liked it when I wasn’t bustling about, cleaning this and that and running the DEVIL VACUUM CLEANER – she could get more of my attention when I wasn’t busy. I remember so many times when I’d was busy on a weekend day and, after a couple of hours of busy, Mina would find me and put her nose on my leg or prance around in front of me, or just sit pretty and stare at me to let me know that she needed my attention.

I wonder if she knew how insanely flattered I was by that? I wonder if she knows how much I miss her?

s.

