Mina’s diarrhea is back, just like in March and April before the cancer diagnosis.

It started when we got home from the vet’s office on Thursday morning. Mina wanted to go for a walk right away instead of going upstairs to our home. Her poop was softer than it’s been in a couple of weeks and covered in mucus.

Later that afternoon, she had full-on liquid poop. She was still eating well, though, so I hoped it was just a temporary thing brought on by the stress of an unpleasant vet visit (I’m sure that Mina considers them all unpleasant).

Yesterday there was more mucus poop and more diarrhea. I gave her two of the Metronidazole tabs from earlier this year. During the late evening we went outside at least twice and she strained and managed to release a little liquid poop. I gave her two more Metronidazole tabs around 8:30 p.m.

She didn’t eat much until later in the day yesterday, but she ate her normal amount. She seemed in good spirits and we took an hour-long drive down some farm roads with the moonroof open and my window down so Mina could stick her nose out. It was cold but those windows needed to be open ’cause girlfriend still reeks of sulfur.

Things got worse late at night around midnight. We went outside at Mina’s request, more straining for a small amount of liquid poop. We went out again at 1:30 a.m. – when I gave her the Immodium – 4:20 a.m., 6:30 a.m., and 7:30 a.m. No, there wasn’t much sleeping for either of us last night.

I can hear her stomach gurgling, just like back in the IBS days when she had symptoms all the time. It’s no wonder because my own IBS has been raging for days now and Thursday’s vet visit just made it worse. I’m trying to be cheerful, but Mina’s very smart and she knows I’m feeling very down. I’ve been thinking of things to cheer us up but there isn’t anyone around here for us. None of my friends live close by, really, and most of them don’t even live in the same part of the country!

s.

