Mina isn’t eating enough to even stabilize her weight this week, much less post a gain. She ate some chicken and rice twice today, plus some pita chips while we were out at the winery today, but that’s all.

Should've faced the mountains for the pic but was keeping an eye on the Bean

Should've faced the mountains for the pic but was keeping an eye on the Bean

I have to conclude that it’s possible that Team Grim Reaper is correct and her gastro-intestinal problems are caused by the cancer. Why it’s causing her problems at this late date is beyond my comprehension, especially after having such a strong chemotherapy treatment. I had hoped today’s outing to our regular vet in Warrenton (to pick up Tramadol and some Forti-Flora, a pro-biotic recommended in the evil e-mail message) and to the winery would cheer her up and stir her appetite, but no. She enjoyed the drive to both places and enjoyed wandering around the patio at the winery but getting her to eat is difficult.

For myself, it’s been an awful 10 days. My own IBS is very active and my anxiety level is very high. I’m sure Mina is keenly aware of all of this and maybe it’s causing her IBS to rile up, too, but her cancer vets are convinced it’s the cancer. Everything they wrote in that horrible e-mail note is eating away at me every minute of the day. We may have won because we will no longer have any contact with Team Grim Reaper, but the damage they’ve done is extensive.

Mina today at Barrel Oak Winery in Delaplane, Virginia

Mina today at Barrel Oak Winery in Delaplane, Virginia

s.

