Mina and I slept a lot yesterday. OK, Mina slept a lot more than I did but we were both in bed by 10:30 p.m. and up and outside for a walk by 4:15 a.m. It’s cold outside. It’s cold outside in July. It’s cold outside in July and that sucks.

This morning I managed to hand feed her some of the beef and rice dish and some boiled chicken. I had to bribe her with a peanut-butter coated pill and sing a silly song about eating chicken to the tune of “Dixie,” but she ate a fair portion. I’m hoping she’ll eat more regularly today and be back on her game by tomorrow. I gave her another dose of the Zofran this morning, too.

On Tuesday she gets another reduced dose of the Vincristine IV, which she handled beautifully last week. They don’t reduce her dose of the Leukeran/chlorambucil and it seems to have quite a negative effect on her around the fourth day.

Sleeping with one eye open; see her inner eyelid?

Sleeping with one eye open; see her inner eyelid?

Did I mention that Mina smells funny? I can’t describe it accurately, but it’s sort of a chemical smell with a little cat pee thrown in. Her Auntie Leanne told me that she knew a woman who had a odd smell about her during chemotherapy. I guess that’s another side effect along with the hair loss, muscle mass loss, etc.

We’ll muddle through today and see what tomorrow brings. I’m hoping she maintains her weight this week, but I’m going to have to work hard to get her to eat more.

s.

