Yesterday I spent a lot of time driving while Mina spent the day with Auntie Sue, Uncle Robin, and feline cousins Amber and Pearl. Perhaps some day Auntie Sue will send a digital photo of the girls so y’all can see them. They’re not easy to spot when Mina is at their house until, I’m told, Mina takes a nap and then the girls come downstairs to investigate THE DOG.

It was a long day of driving for about three hours of wedding and reception. Mina arrived at Auntie Sue’s a little before 9 a.m. and I picked her up around 6 p.m. after spending more than two hours in heavy weekend traffic. She was sleeping on the floor near Auntie Sue when I arrived and didn’t notice me until called her name. Mina sleeps so soundly now that she’s older that it surprises me all the time. I can walk in the door after work and get no response until I call her name a few times.

So, Mina had a couple of nice walks and many potty trips outside and Auntie Sue made another craft project. Mina’s role was to sit and watch as her newspaper front page was mocked up. It’s really cute and I plan to hang it on my office door at work.

Crappy cell phone cam photo of Mina's front page

Crappy cell phone cam photo of Mina's front page

Crappy close up of the headline: Miss Mina Bean's Day Off

Crappy close up of the headline: Miss Mina Bean's Day Off

I’m not sure if it was Mina’s day off from cancer or her day off from me, but she seemed to enjoy herself. The theme of the paper is that Mina is a “healing hero” and a cancer “success story.” I think it’s really neat.

There was no puking yesterday. Hooray! The Remeron is doing it’s work because Mina is eating her Chow Now again and wants more than her normal portion, which I’m happy to give her. I did some more research on Remeron (mirtazipine) and found that it’s not only a strong appetite stimulant but also a strong anti-nausea medicine. She’s on it for 15 days so that’ll get her through next week’s doxorubicin, too.

I’m going to introduce the next supplement tomorrow, the hybridized mushroom formula. I found some at the local Healthway that’s exactly like the more expensive Japanese import formula and I’ll pick it up today. This is supposed to be a very powerful immune system support formula and if it works for Mina I may investigate finding a less expensive source and buying it for both of us.

The drawback to all these supplements is that I have to give them to Mina in capsule form. She does not like having anything put in her food. She’ll turn her nose up and walk away. That means I’m giving her a shitload of pills and capsules every day and will continue to do so even after she’s done with chemotherapy. Right now she takes four pills, one tablet supplement, and one capsule supplement. I keep her pill schedule on the refrigerator door because it’s too much to keep in my head, especially at 4 a.m.

Driving home on Route 55

Driving home on Route 55

s.

