Turns out Mina had a pretty good appetite yesterday, just later in the evening. She finished off her breakfast around 7 p.m. and as I’d just finished cooking a batch of Chow Now, I gave her some more. She gobbled it up in no time. Mina also ate a carton of plain organic yogurt and quite a few bison bites. She definitely likes eating when it’s cooler.

This morning I gave her a bit less for breakfast than usual, having learned my lesson about feeding her too much before a chemo treatment. She ate a few spoons full of yogurt and took all her pills – a total of SIX now with the Keflex. It’s getting expensive to keep giving her almond butter for pilling, and VIMP thinks it might be too rich for her tummy, so they suggested cream cheese or butter.

GROSS.

I asked if vegan cream cheese made of tofu was OK and VIMP said that’s fine. So today, I made her a batch of “Rich Tofu Cream Cheese” from the Uncheese Cookbook. It’s made of cashew butter, firm silken tofu, lemon juice, “mild sweet syrup of any kind” (I chose the Southern option – light Karo), fresh lemon juice, salt, and a pinch of nutmeg. Does it taste like cream cheese made from suffering cows? I don’t think so, but it’s pretty tasty. We’ll try it out on Miss Bean when she takes her afternoon meds – Meto and Keflex.

Today’s exam at VIMP doesn’t make me happy. Yes, Mina got her planned Vincristine IV at the reduced doseage but the popliteal and prescapular lymph nodes in her left leg are now less than 1 cm. Last week they were less than .5 cm, so they’ve grown. The LVT, clearly a member of Team Grim Reaper, didn’t have an explanation for why Mina’s spleen is still normal but she has a couple of peripheral lymph nodes that are getting larger. What the fuck, people? You must have some sort of explanation for this?

The VIMP budgies don't like the paparazzi.

The VIMP budgies don't like the paparazzi.

Mina has lost another .6 pounds. Again, I seem to be the only one who’s freaked out because she’s BONY SACK. The TGR member told me that because her weight losses are incremental they think it’s just the cancer.

So. Her anemia is improved and her white cell count is normal. They did not know about her trip to PWEVC on Friday so I gave them the reports that I carry in Mina’s Cancer Notebook. The urinalysis today at VIMP indicated the specific gravity has gone from 1.026 to 1.015; PH from 8.0 to 6.0, some red blood cells present in Mina’s urine but no overt bacteria, so a likely resolving infection. A brief abdominal ultrasound revealed her spleen has “shrunken to normal size and the texture has improved as well. No overt abnormalities seen in the urinary bladder.”

Today when the LVT saw me pull out notes and charts from her e-vet visit, they must’ve been impressed because they gave me her urinalysis and CBC results with the discharge report. First time I haven’t had to ask for those documents. We report next Tuesday at 7:30 a.m. for her half-day stay and doxorubicin injection.

We’re gonna need a bigger notebook. And more money.

s.

