Mina has a raging urinary tract infection. It’s a humdinger because there’s blood in her pee and it smells like a hellmouth.

I started to notice her becoming really restless around 8 p.m. We went outside twice between 10 p.m. and 11 p.m. She wandered around the yard outside our building just squatting every few feet. Then she came inside and lay down, so I went to bed.

Just as I was drifting off Mina came into the bedroom and woke me up. We went back downstairs and she continued to wander around and squat. I called PWEVC to find out who was the doctor on duty and, disappointed that Dr. Smith wasn’t there, decided to take Mina in.

I did not do this calmly. I slept only five hours the night before and now I’ve been awake for 21.5 hours and I’m already an anxiety basket case.

When we got to PWEVC, there were no other patients but that didn’t last long. Mina had a quick exam by the vet tech and then peed some bloody urine on the exam room floor. She did this four times while we were there, a total of an hour and 15 minutes.

That made it easy to get a sample for a urinalysis. The vet on duty, Dr. Loonam, confirmed the UTI which Mina’s Auntie Lolo had already diagnosed over the phone.

We had a talk about chemotherapy and how it weakens immune systems, that it’s been very moist outside and Mina tends to squat low when she pees, so a little vaginitis turned into a very nasty UTI. The good news is that Dr. Loonam felt all of Mina’s lymph nodes and the only ones she felt were the popliteal and prescapular nodes that Dr. Birnbaum noted on Tuesday. Dr. Loonam told me these nodes are typically palpable because of their location. She also told me to calm down because Mina doesn’t need my anxiety added to her own.

EASIER SAID THAN DONE, PEOPLE.

We now have 21 capsules of Cephalexin (Keflex) at 500 mg. each to take every eight hours. I popped one down her throat at PWEVC. I hope to see some relief in a couple of hours.

Mina drank a fair amount of water when we got home and I wish she’d drink some more. I can’t give her cranberry because it’s too acidic for her body while she’s on chemo.

If you’re curious, here are some stats from tonight’s urinalysis:
Specific Gravity (how concentrated or dilute the urine is): 1.026
PH: 8.0
Leukocytes (white blood cells): 500+++
Nitrate: negative
Urobil: 0.2
Protein: 300
Blood: large
Ketone: negative
Bilirubin: negative
Glucose: negative

Mina’s results clearly indicate a massive infection, according to the values on this chart.

I WILL SLEEP WHEN I’M DEAD. In case you’re worried, yes, I’m still lightheaded and foggy, but there’s no gas leaks in the apartment and my BP is 111/62. So, it must be the brain tumor …

s.

