Mina and I drove to Vienna, Virginia today to visit Singing Stones Animal Wellness Center. We got lost, of course, because no matter the directions given I find navigating Fairfax county to be equal to navigating the Bermuda Triangle. The entire county makes no sense at all.

Anyway, we got there and were taken by Dr. Lundquist into a nice-sized room with carpets and a couch and fresh bowls of water and very few veterinary implements in site. Mina spent some time nosing around the room and looking out the windows, but as the doctor and I talked Miss Mina laid down and closed her eyes.

We talked mostly about Mina’s nutritional needs while she’s in chemotherapy and beyond. Here are a few details:

  • Fish oil or fish once a week. It seems flax oil is not as effective on carnivores as it is on people (We aren’t carnivores, people. Really. When’s the last time you chased down your prey and ripped it apart with those great, big canine teeth?).
  • A probiotic remedy to put good bacteria back into her gut
  • Milkthistle for liver support since most of the chemo drugs are filtered through her liver
  • A hybridized mushroom supplement to boost her immune system
  • No carbohydrates, grains, or sugars – all of these assist cancer cells in replicating. Instead of rice, Mina should have pumpkin or squash (both of which she’s rejected in the past)
  • If she never wants to eat the Chow Now again then I may have to switch her to a different raw food. That doesn’t make me happy because she liked the Chow Now before the Vincristine.

After her chemo is complete, Dr. L. suggested “Hoxsey formula,” an herbal remedy used for cancer treatment and, possibly, ozone therapy which is essentially blowing ozone up her butt. It is a huge immune system booster as well as a cleanser for all sorts of bad things.

Dr. L. recommends that I not give Mina her Interceptor heartworm treatment and stop using K9 Advantix. I asked her what she uses instead to prevent heartworm and flea and tick bites and infestations and she said she just picks off the bugs and it’s unlikely in this area that Mina would get heartworms. She said it’s my decision but she wanted me to know that these drugs tax Mina’s body at a time when she’s already weak. My feelings are that we live in a multi-dwelling community where 70 percent of people with dogs don’t pick up their dogs’ shit and that’s a fine way to transmit worms to canines andhumans. We also live in an area with a lot of ticks. A LOT OF TICKS. I know that topical flea and tick treatments aren’t perfect but the VIMP doctors approved K9 Advantix for Mina. I will ask them about the Interceptor.

Her ladyship resting after her appointments

Her ladyship resting after her appointments

All the supplements listed above have to be cleared with Mina’s cancer vets. It’s possible some of them might interfere with her chemo and that would be bad. I’ll send an e-mail later today.

The doctor also told me that Prednisone will further deteriorate Mina’s right carpus and that she’ll need a better brace soon. She recommended Animal Ortho Care for a hinged brace that will also cover Mina’s foot. I cannot see her tolerating such a device but she may need it in the near future. Just as soon as I have $500 to spend on it.

Oh, and the black spots that are now appearing in several places on her body? Most likely yeast. Dr. L. found a little yeast on Mina’s vulva and and asked if her anus has always been black? Not always but certainly for the last seven or eight years. She said that, too, is likely yeast and now that Mina’s immune system is compromised the yeast is showing up all over. Nothing to be done about it, as it should clear up when the chemo’s gone and Mina’s immune system is restored. Still freaks me out, though.

There was a lot of information and I tried to take some notes and Dr. L. wrote notes but I can’t actually read her handwriting. She sent home some brochures on various supplements and the ozone therapy, though. She also said that if she’d seen Mina without knowing she had cancer that she’d recommend a diet for weight loss! I guess she looks thin to me because of the muscle loss but at 49 pounds I don’t think Mina’s overweight. She said the same thing as the VIMP vets, though, that Mina can still lose some weight without any worry.

Sheesh, I wonder what they think of me?

I liked Dr. L., she’s a non-fish-eating vegetarian and understands my ethical problems with fish oil and chicken carcasses. I just hope I can put all this together and help Mina get healthier through the rest of the chemo. Because right now, Mina will NOT eat the Chow Now. It’s simply the best raw food diet I’ve ever found and the ones sold at Singing Stones are not acceptable. So I am at a complete loss as to what to feed her that she’ll eat and that meets her nutritional needs. Boiled chicken ain’t cuttin’ it. Everyone – Dr. Birnbaum, Dr. Smith, Dr. Lundquist, Carole from Chow Now, Colleen et al. – say that chemo can mess with Mina’s tastes and she might like Chow Now again some day. It’s coming down to dollars. I’ve spent a small fortune trying to get her to eat through various chemo treatments, to the point where I’m living on rice and beans and getting a fat ass from it.

s.

